Return to Headlines

Six PCSS Schools Recognized for Achievement and Growth

PUTNAM COUNTY, TENN. - The Tennessee Department of Education has recognized six Putnam County Schools with “Reward School” status.

Algood Middle, Burks Elementary, Capshaw, Cornerstone Elementary, Prescott South Middle, and Sycamore Elementary were named Reward Schools for the 2022-2023 school year by demonstrating high levels of performance or improvement in performance by meeting their annual measurable objectives across performance indicators and student groups.

The six schools are the most Putnam County has ever had in a single school year.

“We are extremely proud of the students, faculty, and staff at the reward schools, Putnam County School System Director of Schools Corby King stated. “Being named a reward school by the Department of Education recognizes the daily hard work and dedication to student growth and achievement at those schools. All PCSS schools are committed to providing a high-quality education for all students every day, and these schools are among the best across the state of Tennessee.”

More than 400 schools in the state have been designated Reward Schools by the TDOE for having an overall federal accountability score greater than or equal to 3.1 out of 4.0. The Reward School designation is the highest distinction a school can earn by scoring in the top 5 percent in the state.

“Congratulations on this identification for exemplifying student success in achievement and growth, said TDOE Commissioner Lizzette Reynolds in a letter to each school. “We applaud your school’s hard work and student accomplishments.”

The principals at all six PCSS Reward Schools are happy and proud to earn the distinction.

“Being a reward School reflects the dedication of our students, faculty/staff, and the Algood community to foster an environment where every individual can grow and achieve academically and personally,” said AMS Principal Rusty Darley. “We celebrate this recognition with immense pride, and it is a testament to our unwavering commitment to excellence in education.”

“We were so excited to learn of our Reward School designation! Being named a Reward School is truly an honor for our entire Burks family, who have been committed to ensuring student success,” said Burks Principal Heather Tinch. “I would love to give a huge shout-out to our dedicated teachers and staff, hardworking students, and a very supportive Monterey community.”

“Being recognized as a Reward School is a huge honor that reflects the continuous dedication and hard work invested by our faculty, staff, and families,” said Capshaw Principal Renee Cantrell. “The achievement validates the commitment to building strong teacher-student relationships and setting high expectations for all. I am extremely proud of our Capshaw community!”

“Our students, faculty, and staff worked hard to earn this designation, and I feel blessed to be a part of the Cornerstone family,” said Cornerstone Principal Tammy Hoover. “Our faculty believes it starts with the "Efficacy" piece: Believing that our kids can achieve and meet high expectations, then sustaining them daily.”

“We are beyond thrilled to receive this award for our school,” said PSMS Principal Tera Brooks. “This is the icing on the cake to celebrate our faculty and staff's work to ensure all our students are academically achieving and growing to become productive citizens. We also want to thank our students for their efforts, as they have worked hard to achieve their goals.”

“We are extremely honored to earn the status of Reward School at Sycamore Elementary. It’s a true testament to our efforts to strive for excellence,” said SES Principal Tracy Nabors. “The continued focus on teaching and learning by our faculty, staff, and students contributes to this success. Mrs. Robbins and I are honored to work alongside this wonderful community. I personally wish my former principal, Mr. Jerry Maynard, were here to celebrate with us. He would be so proud!”

A complete list of the state’s Reward Schools can be found at