Return to Headlines

PCSS Names Tina Francis-Hodges as Principal of the Year

The Putnam County School System (PCSS) names Tina Francis-Hodges, principal at Jere Whitson Elementary School, as the 2022-23 Principal of the Year. Principals of the Year for the State of Tennessee are selected competitively through four cycles: district, region, grand division, and state. 


Each year, in the State of Tennessee, an outstanding public school principal earns a distinction as the Tennessee Department of Education Principal of the Year (POY).  This honor is reserved for school leaders who demonstrate superior abilities in:

·     managing and motivating students and faculties;

·     evoking high standards;

·     demonstrating a commitment to excellence;

·     implementing innovative programs; and

·     having a track record of exceptional gains in student learning.


“We could not be more proud of Mrs. Francis-Hodges for her dedication to public education. She has been in education for over 34 years and has faced many challenges, seen the world of education evolve all while continuing to care deeply for her students, faculty and staff,” said Corby King, Putnam County Director of Schools. “This honor is special as the supervisors in the district nominate the Principal of the Year. She led her school to become a 2022-23 Reward School, the first time Jere Whitson has ever received that honor. She continues to showcase her commitment to excellence in education and grow her student’s learning.” 


Mrs. Francis-Hodges was overwhelmed with her nomination sharing, “I am incredibly honored to receive the Principal of the Year nomination,” said Francis-Hodges. “It is absolutely a team effort to achieve academic growth and make great strides in our school. I am thankful for those I am surrounded by, and again just humbled to receive this designation.” 


Mr. King adds, “The PCSS wishes her the best of luck as she continues on her journey through the cycles to potentially become the Tennessee Principal of the Year.”