2022 PCSS Teacher of the Years Honored

The Putnam County School System honored the 2022 Teachers of the Year at a luncheon on May 2 during National Teacher Appreciation Week.


“The Teacher of the Year luncheon is a wonderful day in the school year as we get to come together to honor and recognize the teachers chosen by their peers at each PCSS school,” said Corby King, Director of Schools. “Education has evolved quickly and even more so over the last two years. Their dedication and passion for education make a difference in their schools and the lives of our students. They are people who impact culture and lend a helping hand to those around them. We are grateful for each of them and congratulate them.”


Putnam County School System’s Teachers of the Year are nominated by their peers. However, only one from each elementary, middle and high school level is chosen for the PCSS District Teacher of the Year.  


The 2022 recipients for the Putnam County School System District Teacher of the Year are:

  • Elementary – Jennifer Peek, Sycamore Elementary School, PreK Special Education

  • Middle - Charity Bowie, Upperman Middle School, 8th grade English Language Arts (ELA)

  • High (Secondary) – Taylor Key, Upperman High School, 9th-12th grade Career and Technical Education (CTE)


Elementary School Teacher of the Year Honorees

  • Algood Elementary School, Brad Cavender, 4th-grade math 

  • Baxter Primary School, Kristina Penley, Kindergarten math  

  • Burks Elementary, Devon Heady, 4th-grade ELA

  • Cane Creek Elementary, Nicole Asher, 4th-grade math 

  • Capshaw Elementary, Ashley Williams, 3rd grade ELA 

  • Cornerstone Elementary, Sandy Summers, 2nd grade ELA 

  • Jere Whitson Elementary, the late Vickie Rector, 3rd grade ELA

  • Northeast Elementary, Shelia Jett, 1st grade ELA 

  • Park View Elementary, Annie Longmire, 3rd grade ELA 

  • Prescott South Elementary, Carrie Roberson, 3rd grade ELA

  • VITAL/Flex,  Carrin Nash, 3rd-12th grade ELA 


Middle School Teacher of the Year Honorees

  • Algood Middle School, Ronda Cole, 6th grade ELA 

  • Avery Trace Middle School, Stacey Whited, 7th grade ELA 

  • Prescott South Middle School, Stacey Cagle, 7th-grade science 

  • White Plains Academy, Kayla Radford, 7th-12th grade ELA 


High School Teacher of the Year Honorees

  • Cookeville High School, Kim Pack, 9th-11th grade science 

  • Monterey High School, Hollie Childress, 9th-12th grade Career and Technical Education (CTE)

  • Upper Cumberland Adult Education, Bob Bonner, social studies